Types of Medical Malpractice and Negligence

Medical Malpractice occurs when a doctor causes unintentional birth injury when performing a medical procedure.  Oftentimes, this is a result of medical negligence.  Below are various types medical negligence relating to malpractice.

  1. Misdiagnosis
  2. Delayed Diagnosis
  3. Surgical Error
  4. Unnecessary Surgery
  5. Errors in Anesthesia
  6. Labor Malpractice

At Gershon, Willoughby & Getz, our experience and knowledge within the medical and legal professions isn’t just used to benefit children suffering from cerebral palsy. In addition to our work as cerebral palsy attorneys, we have also successfully won settlements from birth injury lawsuits for clients suffering a range of conditions resulting from medical malpractice.  Such disorders include holoprosencephaly, quadriplegia and more.  If you are looking for both a skilled birth defect lawyer, a brain damage lawyer and more, Gershon, Willoughby & Getz if your go-to law firm.

There are three main types of cerebral palsy:

  • Spastic:   Stiff and difficult movement.
  • Athetoid:  Involuntary and uncontrolled movement.
  • Ataxic:  Disturbed sense of balance and depth perception.

There may be a combination of these types for any one individual. Other types do occur, although infrequently. Cerebral palsy may be congenital, caused by injury during labor and delivery or acquired after birth. Both ataxic and athetoid cerebral palsy may occur as a result of a basal ganglia damage – basal ganglia infarct, basal ganglia stroke, basal ganglia hemorrage, basal ganglia lacunar infarct, or any other kind of basal ganglia disease, basal ganglia disorder, basal ganglia degeneration or basal ganglia damage.

Early signs of cerebral palsy usually appear before 3 years of age. Infants with cerebral palsy are frequently slow to reach developmental milestones such as learning to roll over, sit, crawl, smile, or walk.

For more detailed symptoms